The NZ Education System

The New Zealand Education System

Westland High School includes Years 7 – 13.

In bigger centres Years 7 – 8 are separate schools called Intermediate Schools. Westland High School is delighted to have them as junior students in our school.

High Schools offer five years of study.  They comprise of Year 9 – 13.

Years 9 and 10 – Westland High School combines these levels and provide a trimester programme. The middle school programme offers students a broad range of subjects across the curriculum. This enables students to explore many subjects before they decide which subjects to focus on in the senior school.

Years 11 – 13 are the senior high school levels where external, national qualifications are undertaken. The senior programme offers students choice in the subjects they would like to study further after completing high school. Senior students will have NCEA examinations for each year of senior high school as well as numerous class assessments throughout the school year. Those wishing to attend university have the academic goal of the attainment of NCEA Level 3 and University Entrance in Year 13.

Please click here for more detailed information on New Zealand’s National Certificate in Educational Achievement (NCEA).

Please click here for further information on studying at a New Zealand secondary school for an international student.

Please click here for more information on gaining equivalency for Abitur (Germany) or Mattayom 6 (Thailand).


Upcoming events

Friday 10 Dec

10th December Last day of term 4.

Friday 10 Dec

10th December Junior and middle school prizegiving takes place at the Regent theatre. Middle School 9am. Junio... [Read more]

Thursday 2 Dec

2nd of December Teacher Only Day. No School. This is a day set by the Ministry of Education and will be coveri... [Read more]

Monday 29 Nov

Westland Anniversay Day holiday. No school.

Monday 22 Nov

22nd November Senior Prizegiving takes place at the Regent Theatre at 6pm.

Monday 25 Oct

Labour day holiday. No School.

Monday 18 Oct

18th October. Term 4 begins

Friday 1 Oct

1st October. Last day of term 3.

Friday 24 Sep

24th September the Westland High School Ball takes place. More information regarding venue and other details w... [Read more]

Monday 13 Sep

13th September to 20th September is Te wiki o te reo Maori / Maori language week. Visit https://www.tewikioter... [Read more]
All events