Short Stay Programme

Westland High School Short Stay International Programme

Each year in July – August Westland High School welcomes 20 students and 2 leaders from the Edogawa City Youth Wing for a  9 – 10 day exchange.   

Edogawa is a ward in Tokyo and we have had a relationship with them since 2003.  Every few years we send a group of WHS to them. It has been a very successful partnership.

The WHS programme is ably organised by Mrs AnneMarie Greig, Short Stay Co-ordinator,  and includes:

  • The students and staff are homehosted. The students usually are hosted in pairs.
  • All students are allocated a buddy who introduces them to WHS.
  • The programme consists of
    • a Pōwhiri welcome
    • time in class with WHS students  (for example: Whānau class, PE, Homeroom, Māori Culture, Textiles, Science and in class with buddies). Each year’s programme depends on classs that are available.
    • English sessions by themselves
    • visits to the town, Franz Josef Glacier, Punakaiki, Fire station
    • Mayor Bruce Smith welcomes them to Westland with a mayoral reception.
    • A welcome and a farewell party for hosts, students and buddies.

 

 

 

Upcoming events

Friday 11 Dec

Last day of term 4, 2020. Tbc

Monday 30 Nov

Westland Anniversay Day holiday. No school.

Thursday 19 Nov

Teacher only day. No school.

Monday 26 Oct

Labour day holiday. No School.

Monday 12 Oct

Term 4 begins

Friday 25 Sep

Last day of term 3.

Thursday 6 Aug

Teacher only day. No school.

Monday 20 Jul

Term 3 starts

Friday 3 Jul

Last day of term 2.

Monday 1 Jun

1 June Queens birthday. No school.
All events