Covid-19

School holidays have been brought forward so that they end within the Government’s 4 week self isolation period. Holidays will now begin from Monday 30 March to Tuesday 14 April (a reminder that the Tuesday after Easter Monday is always a closed day for schools). At the end of the school holidays, we will be open for distance learning but not physically open for staff to work at school. This means formal instruction of your child/ren will not begin until Wednesday 15th April.

We will be in contact with more information regarding daily teaching subject times before we begin this formal learning on the 15th April. We will be limited in our ability to ensure students are engaging in their learning, please help us by ensuring your child/ren are engaging as expected and completing their work. Teachers will copy parents into any emails sent to students to help with this. 

These are some of the ways we will be supporting your child/ren’s learning from your home:

  • through our class learning sites (found through the school website)
  • Subject teachers emails/links with set tasks, teachers will copy parents into their communication with students.
  • Google meet (a video conferencing app)
  • You will be able to email the teacher if you are unsure of specific class work.

If you need to contact the school, please email the office on office@westlandhigh.school.nz these emails are being checked regularly and your emails will be forwarded to the appropriate person who will be able to help you.

Our Guidance Counsellor, Fiona Lauder is available for further support via Google meet (a video conferencing app), please email her on fionalauder@westlandhigh.school.nz and she will arrange a meeting time for you.

Upcoming events

Friday 11 Dec

Last day of term 4, 2020. Tbc

Monday 30 Nov

Westland Anniversay Day holiday. No school.

Thursday 19 Nov

Teacher only day. No school.

Monday 26 Oct

Labour day holiday. No School.

Monday 12 Oct

Term 4 begins

Friday 25 Sep

Last day of term 3.

Thursday 6 Aug

Teacher only day. No school.

Monday 20 Jul

Term 3 starts

Friday 3 Jul

Last day of term 2.

Monday 1 Jun

1 June Queens birthday. No school.
All events